In Louisiana, as in most states, it is illegal to drive under the influence of alcohol or drugs. If you get a DUI in Louisiana, it will be on your criminal record and could affect your job. You may also lose your license, be required to attend treatment, and have to pay fines. Hiring a good louisiana dwi lawyer is your best bet at getting your charges reduced or dismissed.
The penalties for a DUI in Louisiana increase with each subsequent conviction. A first offense can result in up to 6 months of jail time and a 90-day suspension of your driver’s license. The second offense carries a longer jail sentence and the third conviction is a felony. In addition to these penalties, you will be required to complete substance abuse treatment, install an ignition interlock device (IID), and file SR22 insurance with the state for three years.
A DUI can be devastating to a person’s career and reputation. Employers can be notified of the conviction and it is not uncommon for people to lose their jobs after a DUI. This is especially true for those with high positions in a company, such as CEOs. Moreover, many jobs require that you travel for work. A DUI can make this difficult, especially if you have to use public transportation. The article outlines how louisiana dwi laws are applied and provides commentary on current court decisions, statutes, and regulations. It also discusses the effects of various medications and how they may affect your ability to drive.